[HB. 954] C 3427

# **A BILL**

## **FOR**

AN ACT TO AMEND THE FIRST SCHEDULE TO THE RIVER BASINS DEVELOPMENT AUTHORITIES ACT 1987, AND FOR RELATED MATTERS

Sponsored by Hon. Ossai Nicholas Ossai

nen

ENACTED by the National Assembly of the Federal Republic of

## Nigeria-

- 1 1. The First Schedule to the River Basins Development
- Amendment of the First Schedule to the Act
- 2 Authorities Act (the "Principal Act") is deleted and substituted with the
- 3 following new Schedule-

Column 1	Column 2	Column 3
Name of Authority	Area of Operation	Headquarters
1. Anambra-Imo River	The whole of Anambra, Abia, Ebonyi,	Owerri
Basin Development	Enugu and Imo States.	
Authority		
2. Benin-Owena River	The whole of Delta, Edo, Ekiti and Ondo	Benin
Basin Development	States excluding those parts of Delta and	
Authority	Edo States drained by the Benin, Escravos,	
	Forcados and Ramos Rivers creek systems	
3. Chad Basin Development	The whole of Barno and Yobe States	Maiduguri
Authority	excluding those parts drained by the	
	Jama'are and Misau Rivers systems but	
	including those parts of Adamawa and	
	Taraba States drained by the Yedseram	
	and Goma Rivers systems	
4. Cross River Basin	The whole of Cross River and Akwa-Ibom	Calabar
Development	States	
Authority		
5. Hadejia-Jama'are River	The whole of Kana, Jigawa States and	Kano
Basin Development	those parts of Bauchi, Gombe, Yobe and	
Authority	Barno States drained by the Jama'are and	
	Misau Rivers systems.	
6. Lower Benue River	The whole of Benue, Nasarawa and	Makurdi
Basin Development	Plateau States	
Authority		
7. Niger Delta River Basin	The whole of Rivers and Bayelsa States and	Port-Harcourt
Development Authority	those parts of Delta and Edo States drained by	
	Benin, Escravos, Forcados and Ramos Rivers	
	creek systems.	

8. Niger River Basin	The whole of Kwara and Niger States; the	Minna
Development	Federal Capital Territory; the whole of Kaduna	
Authority	State excluding Kastina State.	
9. Ogun-Oshun River	The whole of Oyo, Osun, Ogun and Lagos	Abeokuta
Basin Development	States	
Authority		
10. Upper Benue River	Those parts of Bauchi and Gombe States	Yola
Basin Development	drained by the Adamawa and Taraba	
Authority	Rivers systems; the whole of Adamawa and	
	Taraba States excluding those parts drained by	
	the Yedseram River system.	
11. Sokoto-Rirna River	The whole of Sakata, Kebbi, Zamfara and	Sokoto
Basin Development	Kastina States.	
Authority		

#### Citation

2. This Bill may be cited as the River Basin Development Authorities (Amendment) Bill, 2020.

### EXPLANATORY MEMORANDUM

This Bill seeks to amend the River Basins Development Authorities Act, 1987 among other things, to review the listed States in the Schedule by deleting obsolete ones and including new ones where appropriate.